Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Ads | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS
My first Thanksgiving as a state representative

November 25, 2015 The leaves are falling, the temperature is dropping and we are at a time of year when we are greeted with an assortment of pumpkin flavored treats and spices that assure us Thanksgiving is just... more »»

Roadways, infrastructure

November 15, 2015 Of the growing problems facing West Virginia, one has emerged to place us in a severe predicament. more »»

Gone but not forgotten

November 11, 2015 The following was compiled from family conversation and memory. WELLSVILLE — It is said in his 96 years, the late Morgan Owen McIntire never met a stranger. more »»

Attacking our founders

November 11, 2015 Many of my columns speak highly of the wisdom of our nation’s founders. more »»

Supporting life

October 18, 2015 A column was recently published in The Review by Connie Schultz entitled ‘Standing tall for Planned Parenthood’ in which Shultz stated, as the title would allude, that she supports Planned Parenthood. more »»

War on coal and workers

August 30, 2015 The Obama administration’s war on coal continues and West Virginia and surrounding coal-producing states are suffering the consequences. more »»

Traveling Ohio House Committees visits

August 30, 2015 One of the most important responsibilities of a state legislator is to take the time to listen to the people of Ohio and learn about the issues that are important to them. more »»

Keep your pet safe this holiday

July 3, 2015 It’s a time of year when I cannot let an opportunity pass to offer a reminder that hopefully prevents inconvenience in the least case scenario and tragedy in the worst. more »»

Preventing suicide

May 23, 2015 Wait. Please. Please don’t do anything to harm yourself. Please. You are unique. You are loved. You are needed. You have a gift to treasure. You do. Each year, 39,000 Americans take their own lives. more »»

Opioid, prescription drug abuse

May 20, 2015 n From 1998 to 2008, the proportion of all substance abuse treatment admissions age 12 or older who reported any pain reliever abuse increased more than four-fol. more »»

‘Together we CAN do amazing things!’

April 28, 2015 I want to address the article titled, “Check presented to park board for softball field” that was included in the April 5, 2015, edition of The Review, concerning the Thompson Park Board meeting tha... more »»

The Entrepreneur

April 1, 2015 It was an unobtrusive classified advertisement that led to my great adventure with J. more »»

Pooling and shale development

March 15, 2015 Throughout my campaign, I promised to use my experience as a geologist to do all I could to properly develop the oil and gas resources contained in our shale deposit. more »»

‘Boy, Snow, Bird’

March 14, 2015 It’s hard to write a review of a book that just isn’t that likable. more »»

‘The Time Machine’

January 25, 2015 January, reflecting its namesake, provides a present opportunity to look back on the past as well as to the future. more »»

Reinforce the right to information

January 17, 2015 West Virginia has very strict open government laws regarding both public documents and meetings of public bodies ranging from city councils to state agencies. more »»


January 1, 2015 New Year’s is a unique holiday. It’s the only holiday I can think of that involves making a resolution for a better future. New Year’s has the potential to be a tremendously positive time. more »»

The Unfinished Gift

December 25, 2014 The women were rattling stacks of dishes in the kitchen sink, clearing away the last remnants of Christmas dinner, and Uncle George and I were settled in deep chairs in the livingroom, half asleep,... more »»

‘It’s A Wonderful Life’

December 21, 2014 One holiday movie that rings out among the others is one that failed to impress audiences on its initial release in theaters. more »»


October 26, 2014 Evil blinds people into believing it is good. That’s what it does. That’s how it works. It creates a popular notion that it isn’t bad after all. more »»

On target for change

October 19, 2014 The following list provides insight into just some of the unfolding responsibilities of school districts, and their staffs, in Ohio: The new PARCC testing (Partnership for Assessment of Readiness fo... more »»


Kiwanis Breakfast November 28, 2015

SALINEVILLE — An all-you-can-eat breakfast is 7:30-10:30 a.m. today at Kiwanis Park Russell Reight building. Cost is $7 for adults and $4 for 12-under. Carryout available. more »

Community Events



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web

Local Columns Poll


Top Jobs